Normal?


What does normal mean? According to the dictionary:

nor·mal

1. conforming to the standard or the common type; usual; not abnormal; regular; natural.

2. serving to establish a standard.

3. Psychology

  • approximately average in any psychological trait, as intelligence, personality, or emotional adjustment.
  •  free from any mental disorder; sane.

4. Biology, Medicine/Medical

  •  free from any infection or other form of disease or malformation, or from experimental therapy or manipulation.
  • of natural occurrence.

5. Mathematics

  • being at right angles, as a line; perpendicular.
  • of the nature of or pertaining to a mathematical normal.
  • (of an orthogonal system of real functions) defined so that the integral of the square of the absolute value of any function is 1.
  • (of a topological space) having the property that corresponding to every pair of disjoint closed sets are two disjoint open sets, each containing one of the closed sets.
  • (of a subgroup) having the property that the same set of elements results when all the elements of the subgroup are operated on consistently on the left and consistently on the right by any element of the group; invariant.

Now the word normal is very disturbing because then we tend to have expectations and we start judging everything that is not according to the standard.

Lately I have been thinking we should eradicate this word from our language, at least in some cases. These cases concern the experience of time, the experience of life, the experience of self and others…. Because what is the standard? In mathematics I can relate to standards, it comes in handy in measuring and building. But still, if you go by standards there are no openings for other ways of thinking, for other ways of seeing things. Just look at the wonderful buildings by Gaudi…… Not standard at all…. But probably very mathematic or else they would’t be buildings 🙂

For example: take the weather. What is normal? Why do we even look at weather forecasts? Why did we lose the ability to just go with what the day brought us. On the website of the dutch meteorological institute KNMI you can take a look at the weather on for instance your birthday over the past years. There is also a standard mentioned. Now I’ve looked back over the years on my birthday and not once it met the standards mentioned. Some years it was over 30 degrees Celsius, other years not even 16 degrees. So it is kind of pointless. I think astrology/astronomy is a way better instrument, and indigenous people and ancient cultures knew what kind of weather was coming by looking at alignments, and feeling the earth and the kosmos. There has always been a need to try to predict, it is probably something in our genes, but that can also be re-written 🙂

Another example: my almost 10-year-old niece told me this weekend that she thought she was ugly. What? She is a very pretty girl, with beautiful eyes and skin, and lovely hair. But in school people (ok 1 or 2) are saying she is ugly, so she thinks she is ugly. Why? Because she hasn’t got perfect teeth, her hairline is different from most. So she showed me girls she thought were pretty. And I thought what? Those botoxed, way to white teeth, fotoshopped fake girls? Are those the standard girls now are trying to live up to? Oh my, I feel so sorry for them…..

And yesterday in school: I am having trouble with seeing how horses and dogs walk and stand and how that is different from the standard. We saw 4 dogs walk and all dogs had deviations…. And most of the horses and animals too. Now I agree that if the leg or back is way off it will cause trouble. But a slight deviation may never cause any trouble at all. I understand that the way we want to (ab)use dogs and horses nowadays will cause a lot of trouble…… But for instance: I had a sore ankle, and then they went and looked at how I stood on my feet, and how I walked. It was not “normal”, there was a slight deviation…. So I got arch support and then I started having trouble with my pelvis and lower back. Maybe my body was used to my slight deviation and would never have caused any more trouble than a little sore ankle that maybe would have healed by itself. But by trying to correct it to the standard it only caused more trouble…. 

Living by standards and only accepting that what is normal is very narrow-minded. It leaves no room for creative thinking, of accepting that there are other ways. That a belief system is not the only right one. That colour of skin is not the standard. That animals all have a purpose. That plants are very needed. That trees are not dangerous. That we are just one of many. That our form may not be the standard. That there are other realms and dimensions.

So maybe it is time for us to let go of the standards and normalities, let’s just open up our minds and hearts and let just take things as they come, as they are, as they present themselves. If you know anything about quantum physics you will see that this is just what our mind creates, so if you are able to see past the standards, anything is possible. Time and space will no longer be a standard……

I understand we need some sort of standards in certain areas but don’t let the standards rule your life and your way of living….

I am not normal, and I am glad I am not….

Love and light and let the venus-transition energy flow within us all!

Diana

Author: balancingshadows

Just little me, trying to wake people up, trying to help our mother earth. Always learning about me, about life. I am a therapist in natural medicine for animals and an animalcommunicator. Forever young, but an old soul. Passionate about music. Trying to rediscover my creative sides. Boring people with my "wisdoms" and quotes. Trying to accept the fact that I belong to the human race. Building up courage to take a leap of faith. These blogs are my thoughts, my emotions, my experiences, my truths. They are not based on any scientific facts or what so ever. I cannot take responsibility for my blogs causing you to experience any discomfort ;-)

Leave a Reply

